Home » Uncategorized » Am I doing this right?

Am I doing this right?

My good friend, Wikipedia, shared with me that a blog is, “a discussion or informational site published on the World Wide Web and consisting of discrete entries (“posts”) typically displayed in reverse chronological order”.

Well, Wiki, thank you. That long-winded explanation can be easily surmised by saying, “a place where anyone, at anytime, from anywhere, can post their mindless, irrelevant, and mostly insane bullshit for the world to see”. 

And here I am. Jumping onto this ship. The blogging ship. A ship that’s clearly going down in flames. And these aren’t your typical flames. You’re probably picturing some majestic ship, sinking with billowing-smoke-filled-flames…slowly descending into the depths of the ocean.

Not quite.

This sinking ship pretty much consists of a few bamboo twigs, strung together with dental floss. Think something “Lost”-esque (made by Hurley, not Sawyer). Now I know you’re probably saying, “Hey, who does she think she is??” or “I know plenty of great bloggers!” or “I have an AMAZING blog!” or, probably the most frequently asked, “Who IS this girl?”. First, I’ll get to “Who I am” later… Secondly, I somewhat agree with you. There are some good blogs. There are some interesting bloggers. However, when I was at my local CVS the other morning and I overheard the thirty-seven-year-old cashier going on and on about her blog dedicated to Honey-Boo-Boo, I decided I had to do something. 

But what was little ol’ me to do? Obviously, my first option was to write a strongly worded, hand written letter to President Obama. Asking kindly for him to shut down all blogs. And while he’s at it, could he push a special button that would disable the “comment” section that follows every, single story on the internet? That would be great, thanks. Well, as my first option did not immediately pan out with oval office stamp of success, I decided to go in the complete opposite direction. 

If you can’t beat em’, join em’.

So here I am. Officially starting a blog. Weird. On a more serious note, I actually do have some things that I feel like sharing with the world and now, the internet is my oyster (or however that saying goes…). 

Here we go World Wide Web, get ready for my tales of mindless, irrelevant, and mostly insane bullshit.

til next time, stacey 

Leave a Reply

